## MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

## April 17, 2014

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session April 17, 2014 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Absent was Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the March 20, 2014 meeting were read and approved as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Anne Tarski, Richard (Dick) Whipple, Gilbert Bermea, Margot Mata, Johnny Guzman, Dr. Cheryl Sanchez, Wade Carpenter, Karen Baen, Reagan King, Barbara Blair, Rachel Hinman, Trish Driskill, Luis Fernandez, Connie Buchanan, Terri Tucker, Bonny Herndon, Xaviera Haynes, Manuel Alejandro, Bonnie Clinebell, and Ismael Martinez. Also present was, Thomas Ferrell from Ferrell/Brown Inc. Architects, Dr. Paul Sorrels and Dr. Quint Thurman from SRSU-RGC and from the Uvalde Leader News was Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons - none

Reports:

A. Del Rio Project update presented by Thomas Ferrell.

B. AIT Program update presented by Bonny Herndon.

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of March 31, 2014 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the 2013 - 2014 Budget Revision. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Del Rio project change orders – none.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the Eagle Pass Proposed Site and Scope as presented by Thomas Ferrell, from Ferrell/Brown Inc. Architects. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the Faculty Handbook changes as presented by Dr. Cheryl Sanchez, Dean of Liberal Arts. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Review of the Strategic Plan 2011 – 2015 Progress Report presented by Richard Whipple.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 8:00 p.m. to consider:

A. Appointment of Vice-President Student Services

B. Employees: Terminated / Resigned / Retired / New Hires / Transfers.

Upon returning to open session at 9:05 p.m.:

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to appoint Margot Mata as Vice-President of Student Services effective June 1, 2014 as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 9:06 p.m.

Rodolfo-R. Fldres, President of the Board

Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board

Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness